Lifestyle

What foods to avoid in the gluten-free diet

GLuten Free

The gluten-free diet is a diet that eliminates gluten, a protein found in wheat, oats, barley and rye and in other products such as medicines, vitamins or supplements. Generally, people use this diet primarily for medical reasons, such as celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy. A gluten-free diet can also be used for weight loss.

Food to avoid

If you’re in a gluten-free diet you should avoid the following dishes:

[row] [col span=”4″ span__sm=”12″ align=”left”]
  • White flour
  • Candeal Wheat
  • Graham flour
  • Triticum
  • Kamut wheat
  • Spelt
  • Wheat Germ
  • Wheat bran
  • [/col] [col span=”4″ span__sm=”12″ align=”left”]
  • Pasta
  • Couscous
  • Bread
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Cookies
  • Muffins
  • Bread rolls (biscuits)
  • Cupcakes
  • [/col] [col span=”4″ span__sm=”12″ align=”left”]
  • Cereals
  • Wholemeal cookies
  • Beers
  • Oatmeal (see the Oatmeal section below)
  • Meat juice sauce
  • Dressings
  • Sauces
  • [/col] [/row]

    What is gluten-free alcohol?

    When you go out to eat at a restaurant or a bar with friends, you should know what type of alcoholic drinks you can safely have if you follow a gluten-free diet. To save you from long minutes of reading leaflets, here is a list of gluten-free alcoholic drinks with the explanation of their composition and why they are suitable for you.
    Here are some beverages you may drink:

    • Wine: It is a drink obtained from the fermentation of the grape. It is made in barrels where it is left until it is suitable for consumption. You can get it in numerous variations: white, pink or red. It is one of the most consumed gluten-free drinks in the world, especially because of its versatility and its great potential to accompany gourmet meals.
    • Whiskey: The vast majority of white drinks, made in a distillation process, is suitable for celiacs to consume. It is worth clarifying that although it is made from wheat or barley, the gluten protein is lost in the distillation process. As a result, it is a drink suitable for celiacs.
    • Tequila: It is another distillate made from agave. This beverage does not contain gluten protein, making it a celiac-friendly alcoholic drink. Important note: tequila is strong alcohol so it is recommended to consume it with caution.
    • Champagne: It is a sophisticated gluten-free alcoholic beverage, famous for its bubbles. It is generally used in moments, which call for a good toast. It is also made from grapes, but in a different maceration process than wine.
    • Ron: One of the most consumed gluten-free alcoholic beverages in the world. It is also a distillate, based on sugar cane. It is usually the component of very rich cocktails, such as the Cuban mojito.
    • Malts or beers without gluten: Traditional beer, which you can buy in any supermarket, is not suitable because it is made with barley. There are, however, completely gluten-free versions of numerous beers. The label
      should make it clear that this is malt or gluten-free beer. Be careful and check the labels carefully to avoid problems.

    What kind of meat is gluten-free?

    All kinds of fresh meats and viscera, jerky, serrano ham and cooked ham, fresh and frozen fish without batter, fresh seafood, and fish and seafood preserved in brine or oil.

    Gluten-free food shopping list

    • Fresh fruits and vegetables.
    • Meat: fresh beef or pork, fresh poultry, fresh fish or shellfish, and eggs.
    • Dairy: unflavored milk, cream, cured cheese, some yoghurts, butter, margarine, cream cheese, cottage cheese and sour cream.
    • Frozen foods: plain fruits and vegetables, some ice creams and sorbets, frozen gluten-free waffles, etc.
    • Some snacks: potato chips, tortillas, popcorn, rice crackers, rice cakes, nuts, seeds, jelly, and pudding.
    • Packaged and canned: natural fruits and vegetables, canned tuna or chicken, beans and lentils.
    • Cereals and grains: cream of rice, semolina, rice flakes, brown rice or white rice and some corn pancakes.
    • Some condiments: jellies, jams, honey, peanut butter, corn or potato starch, some corn and maple honey, molasses, brown, white or icing sugar, spices and herbs, salt, pepper, sauces, pickles, olives, tomato sauce, mustard, distilled vinegar and most of the salad dressings.

    Check our gluten-free products